Last day of training

Well, today was the last day of training. Actually, I’m not really sure you can call it a day of training, since we didn’t work on fixed routes. we headed to Muir Woods and walked along the trails there, probably a little bit over a mile and a half. It was very nice and cool underneath all of those redwood trees! I am so happy that my class got the chance to go there, it’s so breathtaking! Mambo did an excellent job at guiding me along the path, he wasn’t even distracted when a kid pet him without asking. He was also very good about avoiding roots and uneven areas along the path.
This afternoon, we got our binders with all of our dogs information. It also has a class photo, our ID cards, and cards with different state and federal guide dog laws. After that, I headed back to the gift shop to buy some more things. I bought a Nylabone for Pascal, and also a Goughnut tug toy, and hopefully Pascal and Mambo can play with it together.
Tomorrow is graduation day! It’s so hard to believe that I’ve already been here for almost 2 weeks, the time has just flown by. I am really going to miss my instructors and classmates. This has just been a wonderful training experience! I really think that the two-week training works great for retrains, but I still feel that first-timers need a little bit more time than that. But, they seem to be doing really well with the program. This class just has been exceptional, I have been so pleased with everything. I really think that my classmates and I will keep in touch throughout the years.
I am not sure I really want to come home, I know that Mambo and I are ready to take on the world though! I really wish that I could move out here to California, but I can’t afford to live out here 🙂 maybe someday!
I am getting ready to call my puppy raiser, wish me luck tomorrow!

Leave a comment