A much better day!

Well, today has been much better than yesterday, I made it through the day without crying 🙂
We started our day out with heading back to El Cerrito to work on platforms and riding the train. The other student that I am paired with, wasn’t able to make the morning route, so we had plenty of time since it was just me and my two instructors (and of course Mambo). We rode the escalators to the platform, and he does an awesome job at keeping us safe and dodging all the people. I typically do not ride trains much, since there aren’t any nearby. But, I thought this would be a good experience, since I use them when I travel. I also did not learn the skills when I trained with my last dog, Pascal. I had to skip that route, since my legs were hurting. Luckily, I haven’t had to skip any routes during this training. Yes, I’ve had aches and pains, but I’m doing alright. My ankle was a little bit sore this morning, so I am wearing a brace on it and it feels fine now. And I did not fall off of any curbs today, LOL!
Even though the route in El Cerrito was one that I was not familiar with, we did very well. Mambo and I feel like we’ve been working together for several months, not just 10 days!
This afternoon, we went into San Francisco, to work on Chestnut St. We also got to cross the six lane Hwy. twice, which went very well. Both those intersections were controlled with lights, thank goodness. I really struggle when I cross four-way stops, it’s hard for me to judge when to go.
I did speak to my puppy raiser briefly this afternoon, and she is going to call me back this evening. Mambo is the first puppy that she has raised, and Pascal was a first puppy too, for his raiser. It’s so awesome that a first puppy is able to become a guide!
I have been bugging my instructors all week saying that I really wanted to go to Muir Woods, and it worked! They typically do not take the class to Muir Woods anymore, with the two-week program. But, all of the students are well prepared, and have achieved all of our goals. So, we are able to go tomorrow morning! I am just so happy 🙂
Talk to you all soon!

One thought on “A much better day!

Leave a comment